• Categories

  • Top Posts

  • © Holly Craw and Home-School-Community, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Holly Craw and Home-School-Community with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

The Arizona HOMESCHOOL HeartBeat celebrates its 10th anniversary!

Wow!  It is hard to believe that ten years ago this month, I began a venture into the homeschool newsletter arena.

It began as a simple idea of passing along the information that I acquired in the daily life of being a leader in the home school community.  I remember being very naive about computer applications in those days–not really having a clue about websites.  Someone told me about Yahoo Groups, and that seemed like a great way to compile names and easily send out an email to lots of folks at once.

I discovered that I could also post files on Yahoo so that new members could have the current issue sent to them automatically!  Boy, oh boy!  That was such a great tool!

I sent out my email letter month by month, gathering all kinds of tidbits that seemed helpful and relevant to home educators, and after awhile, I had nearly 1000 on my list!

In the meantime, I co-founded Covenant Home School Resource Center, and realized that I could use the e-letter as a voice for the events and resources at Covenant.  For the past 8 years, I have combined the CHSRC happenings with other items of ongoing interest, and found that many people actually read my missives and felt connected with the information flow.  Eventually, with the help of several people along the way, I figured out how to do some website “design” (I learned a lot, but don’t think I qualify as being a web deisgner–maybe manager ;} ) and had a section on the CHSRC site for the HeartBeat.

It was a great blessing to know that my writings had an impact on people, and when I was late getting the news out, some would email to see if they had missed seeing it.

Now, I am still trying to keep up with all the relevant issues for homeschoolers, and I find that the blog format is very helpful for having an ongoing forum to convey news, ideas and information.  However, I acknowledge that I am not getting the same type of volume of articles in the “e-letter” portion as I had before.  Some of that is due to the continual posting of items as I get them, so at the end of the month, I don’t remember to make note of all the topics that have gone before.

Anyway, here is the page with the relevant thoughts that I captured for the July edition of the Arizona HOMESCHOOL HeartBeat.

I would love some feedback on the kinds of things that are meaningful to my readers to have in this blog or in the e-letter.  (I still send out a monthly email to everyone on all my lists to let them know a few of the key topics.)  I set up a poll on this blog, but I can’t find where it will show up.   (There are still computer things about which I am clueless!)

Anyway, leave a comment below, and I will be glad to read your entries.

Leave a Reply

