How does a homeschooler deal with the negative pressure of a career in the arts? – Phoenix Homeschooling | Examiner.com

Homeschoolers come from all walks of life, and each story is unique.  Diane Hallett continues with her story of discovering a natural talent for modeling and acting, quickly moving up through the ranks to become very successful, and giving it up for a season to homeschool.

Examiner: Many people feel hesitant about modeling and acting due to the abundance of worldly influences.  Why do you continue to train young people for those fields?  How are you able to do that, yet with a Christian perspective, and how successful are the students in staying unentangled with negative peer pressure so prevalent in the arts?

Diane: I loved God profoundly at an early age.  The first thing I ever wanted to be growing up was a nun! In third grade, I started a prayer group, and other girls and I would gather first thing in the morning to praise God.  Vividly I remember walking to school, touching the tall grass by me as I walked, and praising this wonderful God I served, for making this amazing world.

Then junior high hit and I went from a small school in which I knew everybody, to a huge school where I felt out of place and insecure.  I longed so to fit in….so I did – the wrong way with the wrong crowd.  I was too weak to stand up for myself and for my convictions.  So many nights I remember coming home and crying myself to sleep, praying:  Lord, I am so sorry.  Someday, I will follow you completely. I know what I am doing is wrong. Please forgive me.

Then one day my mom surprised me, picked me up from school and took me to a modeling school.  I ate up everything I was taught, took hall passes to practice my “walk” in the school hallways.  Soon, I was being taken out of school often for modeling jobs.  I blossomed.

Read more

Leave a Reply

